Photo by Cliff Booth from Pexels

Last night I had a very peculiar dream.

I’m going to spare you from the details since I couldn’t remember majority of it. But hey, if you can’t remember then maybe it wasn’t important. Although I couldn’t remember the bulk of it, what I could remember was seeing my own menstrual blood.

Now I’d like to preface this blog post that we should normalize talking about menstruation. It is not disgusting. It is not taboo. It is a regular, monthly function of the biologically female body just like how it’s normal for us to poop, pee, and breathe.

Now, the dream intrigued me even as I woke up and got me into search mode.

Photo by Sora Shimazaki from Pexels

On searching, here are some of the interpretations of what menstruation means in dreams.

To dream of menstruation or being on your period represents a problem or unpleasant life situation that requires your full attention. Something you have to attend to, or a problem that can’t be ignored. Feeling uncomfortable doing anything except taking care of a problem you have. Unpleasant moment of taking time off to deal with personal issues. Not feeling good noticing you have to care about something you don’t want to.

Dream Bible entry on Menstruation

To dream of menstruation indicates that you are releasing your pent-up tension and worry. It signals an end to the difficult times and the beginning of relaxation. Some creative energy is being released or recognized. Alternatively, the dream means that you are denying your feminine side.

In particular, dreaming of their menstrual cycle when it is not time yet may indicate your anxiety about your cycle. It may sometimes signal an early or unexpected period. 

Dream Moods entry on Menstruation

For more interpretations, you may also go over Check my Dream.

Most websites spoke of anxiety and unhappiness with or towards others. To be honest, these interpretations didn’t feel right since mine did not fall into any of those indicated.

How can a woman feel anxious or insecure because of her own period? Or how can period blood be even associated to tension and unnecessary worries? Maybe it’s just me, confused since I didn’t feel that it was right to antagonise a very natural bodily process. Also maybe it’s because I have reclaimed my bodily autonomy by embracing my periods and reproductive health that the interpretations didn’t feel right. So I asked my Divine Feminine spiritual team. This is where I would like to say that if you can spare the time, have a day dedicated to journaling and bonding with your deck.

What I end up finding was surprising since I was told to remember what science has taught me about periods and go off from there.

Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich from Pexels

Aside from what has been presented by the websites I linked earlier, menstruation can also be interpreted as your Empress period refreshing itself. You see, menstruation is a natural occurrence in the female body where a fertile womb that remains unconceived is cleansed to make way for a new mattress.

As of writing this blog post, we enter another cycle of back to back retrogrades and eclipses. With the though of menstruation being the body’s natural way of purging the old, we can say that the universe is purging what we don’t need in our lives to make way for a blank new slate, and a fertile one too especially for those who have been trying to create or are creating. It’s not a period to be anxious but a period to rejoice and look forward to.

So it’s not all about you denying your feminine side or even being anxious about your own period, menstruation in dreams can also mean an incoming fertile period but you may need to do some cleaning up. You may also be called to start planning and focusing on creative projects that you may either have been setting aside or thinking about. Let that inner Empress energy free. Finally, you may also consider that dreams on menstruation can represent a need to do away with the old to welcome the new. You may need to remove a few people, habits, things, or even ticks from your waking moment that is no longer serving or doing you any good.

Before I end this post, here is another takeaway. If you feel that pre-written interpretations of dreams and symbols posted in the internet do not feel right by you, follow your intuition.

You’ll be surprised on what you uncover.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.